Modern  Method
Jungian Interpretation

Ancient Method
Verses of Interpretation
The first Four Trigrams are Yin: 


Sense/Sensing.  The sensing is defined by the weak yin line, outside, at  the bottom.  The indication gentleness, to be soft and penetrating; the continuing flow of experience:  receiving one impression, freed to move on to a new one. The image is grass, wind & wood. The wind goes softly through trees & grass.


Think/Thinking.  Thinking links up and attaches sense with words, following the wishes and impulses.  Thinking has a beginning and end, visualized in the image of fire; light & clinging.  Thinking, is not an end in itself; but to solve problems.  You should not think beyond the solution.  Once you understand; answers  are all in memory.  The motivation is to attain clarity,  not the thoughts themselves.


Feel/Feeling.  Feelings experience the inner signals, as opposed to the outer signals of senses.  The image is the clear lake which you can look  through.  The indication is for joy and happiness; to to satisfy the needs, so they disappear, to have peace and serenity together.  But not to share empathy pity, or suffer with one another.


Will.  The image is a cave in the  Earth and extends to the vastness of the planet.  The indication is devotion  and receptivity; willing to receive the germ and let it grow.  Once the will is expressed through choice, or decision; it is to move on and be transported to a higher level of responsibility.   

The next Four Trigramsare Yang


Body. The body is.  You are unable to change it's nature;    The image is the mountain, the motivation is keeping still.  You can then experience the nature of the body, sense it's needs and control it's functions through the tranquility of silence, of deep sleep or illness.


Soul.  The soul is between heaven, earth,spirit and body.  It is always in danger. The Soul, like the river, has to flow from the source in the mountain to the sea, then be transformed, die, into clouds, and finally be reincarnated again as rain in the mountains. The indication is stillnesss and resting.  Kan is seen representing Six primary relations of the family:  Brother, Sister, Father, Mother, Son & Daughter.


The Spirit, attained only in the waking state, the conscious quest. It is always a sacred spirit. It is defined by the images of thunder and lightning, and the indication is arousal, movement and  excitement.  First you experience awe and anxiety, then humility and peace; then laughter; when you find simplicity in knowing.


Awareness/Balance here means living in tune with Karma.  The image is the heavens on a clear starry night.  The motivation is creativity and cosmic awareness towards personal growth & transcendence.
Early divination was done by the casting or tossing of sticks, and later coins & stones.  with a line or blotch, as a positive or negetive symbol on each side of the object tossed.  (heads and tails of a coin).  they gave yes and no Answers.

The I Ching; the Oriental form of this style of divination; used lines: A straight line symbolized Yang the positive/Yes    A broken line  Yin the negetive/No. 

In Oriental Philosophy TAO (the source of the Yi King) is the primal force of the Universe;of all.
TAO concentrates itself to a point.
TAO directs  itself and becometh the Male Force, called YANG, symbolized by a Solid Line.
TAO expandeth and becometh the Female Force, called YIN, symbolized by a Broken Line.
These Three: TAO, YANG and YIN, bring forth heaven and earth, and all contained therein.

Yin & Yang are the Chinese terms for the basic polarities of the Universe.

      Yin:    ___    ___

                              Yin is Female: (Yoni) Moon;  the direction downwards. Yin counter-clockwise. 
                               Yin is space; the open angle.  Yin is soft, yielding and relaxed. dark and weak.

                              Yang is Male: (Lingam) Sun; the direction upwards. Yang is clockwise and the closed circle.
                              Yang is hard, resistant and tense,Yang is time, light, strong.

   Yang:     ________

Preparation: Ancient Method

Obtain 6 Chinese coins. Five shall be of one metal and the sixth of another. Six sticks will serve. Paint one side solid and the other broken. One of the six is especial; It should be made unique by painting one end on both sides.One side ye shall call Yang, and the other Yin (Heads and Tails).

Care for thine sticks as though they were coins. These sticks/coins should be kept in a wrapped black cloth, no other should lay hands upon them. They will be bathed with your aura after faithful use and repititon.


When seeking the Oracle, do thus: take out the coins or sticks, from their special place.
Face East; and clear the mind, so that no thoughts shall intrude. Call upon what god or powers that ye will; filling with pure light, raising your mind to the image of the situation of your inquiry.

Gently toss the sticks or coins, toward the East; as they fall into a pattern, arrange into an Hexagram. Each line of the Hexagram is numbered: The line nearest is number One; the farthest away is number Six. Construct the Hexagram, as tossed made up of six lines; each line being Yang or Yin. The especial stick or coin is called "The Moving Line."  Construct a Second identical Hexagram; then change the "moving Line" from Yang to Yin; or from Yin to Yang.


Read the First; Hexigram; first two lines refer to the Hexagram as a whole, giving direction to the matter of inquiry.  The change of the reading of the Moving Line  pertains to thy situation:
Which is considered to be the Answer from the TAO.
I-Ching Trigrams
Summoning Spirit

This page was last
updated on: 1/15/09

A Three lined symbol is called the Trigram: which is a basic component of the I Ching.  With Three tosses or coins; here are Eight possible combinations containing the qualities and interaction of the Yin and Yang. 

The "lower" Trigrams are generaly shown on the side of a chart.  They Represents the inner world and the motivations.  Each "upper" Trigram has the Eight possible combinations added to form  total of Sixty Four Symbols found in the I Ching  (book of Changes).

These  Eight Trigrams  comprise the basic symbols used in Taoism and Easten  Thought   The basic trigrams represent the Eight types of consciousness: It is best to understand the MEANINGS OF THE TRIGRAMS  before going on to the meanings of the Hexagrams.

A Six lined Symbol Hexagram is created by Six tosses  There are Sixty Four possible results with Six Lines.

The Hexagram is divided into two Trigrams: An upper Trigram and a lower Trigram. Viewed as combining Two Trigrams. 

They are generally shown on a chart comprised of the Eight Trigrams across the top horozontallyThese are the "upper" Trigrams: represent the outer world and the intention.
The "lower" trigrams across the side; they combine to make the 64 Hexagrams below.

The Hexagrams have both a combined meaning and each stand for their own symbol. 

Many Interpretations of the symbols have been made by the Great Tao Masters Which has always been done in Verse.   For the interpretation I have included the most classic interpretation from the great Tao Master Lao Tsu, using the Ancient Method of Casting above.    I have just added the more "Modern"  method of Casting;  and Jungian Interpetation, as a second choice.                                             
Copywrite 2000 RiciaJo all rights reserved

Ancient Method
Verses of Interpretation
Modern  Method
Jungian Interpretation